A National Day song – in Tamil!

So, someone came along and did a National Day song – in Tamil. It’s something not done before (as far as I know).

Titled “Singai Naadu”, the song is so much more soulful than the plastic and trying-too-hard-to-impress English one. You can view that terrible video here.

“Singai Naadu” is such a breath of fresh air. It really is time that we stop having Chinese peeps all the time sing about all things Singapore.

Our nation is made of other races too, you know?

Lyrics with English translation:

Verse 1

Boomi, Unnai Azhaikkuthu x 2 Vaa Vaa

(The land is calling you, come home) 
Nam Naadu, Kural Ezhupputhu x 2 Vaa Vaa
(Our country is calling you, come home)

Pre Chorus

Pala Inangal Sera, Orumai Kondaade
(Many races come together to celebrate unity) 
En Veedu Enthan Thaai Naadu Endru Sollu
(Proclaim that this is your home & your motherland) 
X2

Chorus

Singai Naadu, Enthan Veedu x 2
(Singapore My Country, My Home)

Verse 2

Vaanathai Etti Pittithu Saathanai Seiya Vaa
(Reach out for the sky & make new achievements) 
Ulagam Thirakkume, Vazhigal Pirakkume Vaa Vaa
(The world will open up & new ways shall be born) 
Desam Azhaikkirathu Vaagai Sooda Vaa
(Nation is calling come to get crowned)
Nam Kodi Parakkuthu Inbam Pirakkuthu Vaa Vaa
(Our flag is flying & that brings joy to all)

Pre Chorus

Pala Inangal Sera, Orumai Kondaade
(Many races come together to celebrate unity) 
En Veedu Enthan Thaai Naadu Endru Sollu
(Proclaim that this is your home & your motherland) 
X2

Chorus

Singai Naadu, Enthan Veedu x 2
(Singapore My Country, My Home)

7 thoughts on “A National Day song – in Tamil!

  1. Very nice! Agree is soulful, and I wish there were english translation so i understand the lyrics. But in all, a great ndp song from our indian citizens!

  2. Thanks, Andrew! You are spot on, i feel. Shabir (who wrote the lyrics and who sang it) is iconic with the South Indian (Vasantham) audience and a hit especially with the younger crowd. He did this project purely on his own initiative – self funded it! He shared with me that he did this purely because of his love for country (i believe him) and because he felt that the Indian community deserves a new national Tamil song after “Munneru Vaaliba’s” 30 year reign! The music was composed by AR Rahman’s protege in Chennai – whom Shabir contacted personally and persuaded. This, behind the scenes story, for me is even more inspiring than the powerfully authentic lyrics of the song. cheers. Viswa

  3. Thanks,Andrew! I am sharing this in my FB and in Singapore Tamil Community FB. Truly inspiring as Viswa commented. Rajan

  4. Yes I think that since the song is sung at a slower pace our non-Indian friends can also learn the Romanised lyrics and sing along!
    Thanks to Shabir – love for Singapore expressed in a very sincere way!

  5. This brought a tear to my eye. It’s been a while since an ode to our country has done that. Patriotism, restored.

  6. Even though I am Chinese,I really enjoyed this song when I was watching it twice last Saturday 3rd August 2013 on Vasantham. So much so that I sang along with it and I really hope that this will be further promoted and sang during this year’s NDP Parade. I guess it is a bit too late to do so now but it should be promoted more widely than the current English NDP song which is downright horrible.

    I also enjoyed the Tamil Movie with my son later that night about a School Teacher’s good work in a Village. I am really amaze by the standard of Vasantham now. Compared to the Chinese Channels, it has progress by leap and bound while the former has degressed badly.

    Keep it up our Indian friends! Happy National Day

What say you?

