Healing

Blood diffusion on left thigh after CABG op. It has cleared up entirely now.
Blood diffusion on left thigh after CABG op. It has cleared up entirely now.

It has been slightly more than 3 weeks since I had my surgery on 22 September 2016. Things are going well, and I am recovering better than I had expected.

I still have a little chest discomfort when I exert myself, such as when I reach for something, or when I try to carry something. So, I have to be careful when I do so.

I can’t carry a 2kg watermelon, for example. It would be too much of an exertion. My chest also hurts when I sneeze. I particularly hate sneezing now cos it feels like your heart is being squeeze rather tightly whenever I do.

But other than this, I am fine.

I will begin my physical training with the hospital physiotherapists and trainers on 18 October, but I don’t expect it to be anything too strenuous. We will probably do some work on the machines, such as walking on the treadmill and stuff. 16 sessions of that (twice a week) and I should be more or less back to normal. The healing of the breastbone itself, which the surgeon had to cut through, will take a bit longer. 

Anyway, here are some before and after photos of the incision points, or scars. They are healing nicely as well, and now look less nasty as they did 3 weeks ago.

As you can see, the human body is quite amazing in healing itself.

Left: After op; Right: 3 weeks later
Left: After op; Right: 3 weeks later

 

Right arm. Blood diffusion after angiography.
Right arm. Blood diffusion after angiography. [Left: Present] [Right: Before]
Left arm.
Left arm. [Left: Before; Right: Present]
Thigh. Point where surgeon took out the saphenous vein to use as graft.
Thigh. Point where surgeon took out the saphenous vein to use as graft. [Left: Before; Right: Present]
What say you?

